Home EDUCATION UI Committed to Well-Being, Overall Development of Its Students – Vice Chancellor

UI Committed to Well-Being, Overall Development of Its Students – Vice Chancellor



The Vice-Chancellor of the University of Ibadan, Professor Kayode O. Adebowale, mni, FAS, has emphasized the institution’s dedication to the welfare and holistic growth of its students.

The Vice-Chancellor reiterated this commitment during the swearing-in ceremony of the newly elected Students Union (SU) Executives for the 2023/2024 academic session.

He highlighted the crucial role of the Student Union Executive in advocating student rights, addressing concerns, and fostering a sense of community and belonging, thereby bridging the gap between the administration and the student body in alignment with the university’s regulations.

The Vice-Chancellor emphasized that the Students’ Union serves as the driving force behind the social, cultural, and academic vibrancy that defines the university experience.

He elaborated that the University of Ibadan has invested in a comprehensive support system to cater to students’ physical, mental, and emotional needs through recreational facilities, counselling services, and mentorship programs, among others.

Professor Adebowale encouraged the new executives to collaborate with the university administration, assuring them of necessary support and partnership to elevate the University of Ibadan to new heights.

He also urged the Students Union Executives to uphold and champion the core values of the University of Ibadan.

The Dean of Students, Prof. I. A. Abiona advised the new executives to apply the knowledge gained during their orientation and embrace dialogue rather than confrontation/protest when dealing with issues.

He also reminded them to adhere to all rules and regulations of the institution, using the Students Information Handbook as a guide.

The outgoing Student Union President, Mr. Samuel Tobiloba Samson urged the new executives to uphold the primary mandate of the union, which is to prioritize the needs of the students above all else.

He encouraged them to serve diligently by positively impacting the lives of those they represent, building upon existing foundations, addressing pertinent issues, and collaborating with the university to tackle pressing concerns.

Mr Samuel emphasized the importance of maintaining steadfast commitment to bringing about meaningful change.

Moreover, he implored the new executives to embody integrity, empathy, and vision stressing the significance of listening to the voices of their fellow students, fearlessly advocating on their behalf, and striving to leave behind a legacy of progress and continuity that they can be proud of. The speech was delivered on his behalf by his Vice-President, Miss Nofisat Ogunsesan.

The new Student Union President for the 2023/2024 academic session, Mr. Bolaji Damilola Aweda, in his inaugural speech, assured the university community that his administration would strive to improve upon the existing framework by fostering collaboration with the school management and various organisations with the aim of promoting academic excellence and wellbeing and ultimately achieving a balanced university system.

Mr. Aweda appealed to the government and the university management to address the matter of school levies, recognising the strain they place on the finances of students’ parents and guardians.

He emphasised the importance of alleviating this burden to ensure students can focus on their studies without undue financial stress.

The Registrar, Mr. G. O. Saliu administered the oath of office to the newly elected officers (members of the Student Executive Council and members of the Student Representative Council).

Members of the Student Executive Council (S.E.C.) were presented Certificates of Return by Mr Arinola David, the Chairman of the Logistics sub Committee of the SU Electoral Commission
while the Vice-Chancellor presented letters of commendation to the Electoral Commissioners.

The election of the newly elected officers took place on Saturday, 20 April 2024.

The newly sworn-in Students Executive Committee members are:
● Aweda Bolaji Damilola – President
● Aboderin Boluwatife Nafisat – Vice President
● Ogundipo Dolapo Japhet – General Secretary
● Christopher Onuh – Assistant General Secretary
● Elemide Daniel – House Secretary
● Onyishi Christian Nwachukwu – Treasurer
● Omotayo Olumide Sunday – Public Relations Officer
● Adesina Daniel Ademola – Sports Secretary

Today’s ceremony was witnessed by the principal officers of the University, Honourable Victor Olojede, the Senior Special Assistant to the governor of Oyo State on Students Affairs, students, relatives and members of the university community.

Previous articleChampion of Change: Senator Alli’s Transformative Leadership in Oyo South || Akeem Abas